Skip to main content

504 Resources

Section 504 is a civil rights law that prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities. Section 504 ensures that students with medical or other disabilities have equal access to an education. Qualified students may receive accommodations and modifications planned by persons knowledgeable about the students, the meanings of evaluation data, and placement and accommodation options.

 

The Section 504 regulations require a school district to provide a "free appropriate public education" (FAPE) to each qualified student with a disability who is in the school district's jurisdiction, regardless of the nature or severity of the disability. Under Section 504, FAPE consists of the provision of regular or special education and related aids and services designed to meet the student's individual educational needs as adequately as the needs of nondisabled students are met.

 

Information can be found on the NJ Department of Education website.

https://www.state.nj.us/education/students/safety/behavior/504/

 

Please find the District 504 Manual here.

 

Please find our 504 contacts by building. If you have a question, please reach out to your child’s building 504 contact. The district’s 504 coordinator is listed below, as well.

 

Lincoln

Mrs. Lorraine Restel

lrestel@nutleyschools.org

 

Radcliffe

Mr. Michael Kearney

mkearney@nutleyschools.org

 

Spring Garden

Mrs. Laurie Laguardia

llaguardia@nutleyschools.org


Yantacaw

Mr. Frank Francia

ffrancia@nutleyschools.org

 

Washington

Mr. Doug Jones

djones@nutleyschools.org

 

JHWMS

Ms. Alisa Gennace

agennace@nutleyschools.org

 

Ms. Jill Divilio

jdivilio@nutleyschools.org

 

NHS

Mr. Denis Williams

dwilliams@nutleyschools.org

 

District 504 Coordinator

Dr. James Riley

jriley@nutleyschools.org

About

The Nutley School District serves approximately 4,100 students in Kindergarten through grade 12. The five elementary schools serve students K-6 and include Lincoln School, Radcliffe School, Spring Garden School, Washington School and Yantacaw School. John H. Walker Middle School serves students in grades 7-8 while Nutley High School addresses the needs of students in grades 9-12.